27
Thu, Feb

Latest Features News

Grid List

The author, Kobina Ansah

Opinions

It’s rosy nowhere; neither at the top nor bottom. Gird your loins for a lot of nonsense if you desire to be great someday.

The author, Kobina Ansah

Opinions

Fat seasons are not lean seasons. In one’s fat season, they have fans. In their lean season, they have friends.

Our Ancestors Did Not Leave Us Defenceless Against The Likes Of Galamseyers! - Cameron Duodu

Opinions

The colonialists, in order to be able to rule us with ease, emasculated our “Asafo” groups. And our own rulers, to whom power was transferred, ...

Coronavirus epidemic touchstone for resilient China-Africa friendship

Opinions

After the Ebola virus breakout in Africa in March 2014, certain countries closed their embassies and evacuated diplomats and citizens from three West African countries hit hard by the epidemic.

Ghanaian Students in Wuhan renew plea for evacuation

Opinions

The Ghana government has emphasised the cumbersome protocols for evacuation under such circumstances as a major impediment and provided financial support to ease the burden on the about 400 affected students.

Right to information; Presidency, cabinet, et al, no go area ‘clauses’!

Opinions

I doubt anyone anticipated that the RTI Act would come out with such limitations restricting the accessing of information at the Presidency, relating to cabinet and other core government machinery institutions.

These acts of indiscipline on the Kanda Highway is extremely risky and we should not wait for the worst to happen before we take action. Image credit - Charles Okine

Opinions

Another disturbing phenomenon is the use of the highway as a garage for the fixing of motorbikes. Along the stretch from the Kaukudi traffic light ...

Airbus, excavator and our Wrestlemania politics

Opinions

The two giants, New Patriotic Party (NPP ) and the National Democratic Congress (NDC), are almost perennially locked in battle over literally everything in a seemingly unending election season.

Maximising our 307 National Ambulance fleet

Opinions

However, I watched in total shock when the unit returned to its pre-refurbishment status quo over a three-year period, completely run down through a ...

The writer - Kobina Ansah. File Image

Opinions

It might be early but you just may not be ready! Life favors us all differently. One is favored to have an early marriage. Another is favored to have probably an early business.

Mrs Jean Mensa — EC Chairperson

Opinions

A hurried introduction of an election system of any sort will always end in major problems for democratic processes.

Responsible Parents Raise Responsible Children!

Opinions

It is dangerous to give a child privileges when they are yet to understand responsibilities. If you give your children too much freedom, you make them slaves of their choices.

MINORITY STATEMENT ON 2019 STATE OF THE NATION ADDRESS WALKOUT - HON. HARUNA IDDRISU

Speeches

We are clad in black today to mourn the fascist and authoritarian tendencies that have conspired to threaten the health of Ghana's democracy.

FULL TEXT: John Mahama's New Year message

Speeches

The year 2020 is an election year and the eyes of the world would continue to be fixed on us, as we go to the polls. We need to meet the high standards set ...

President Akufo-Addo

Speeches

Fellow Ghanaians, it is the same electorate who vote to elect a President and Members of Parliament on a party-political basis, who are going to vote to elect their own MMDCEs on a party-political basis. Far from it being divisive, ...

File Image – President Akufo-Addo

Speeches

The responsibility is ours as individual sovereign countries not only to aim at reducing poverty, but, actually, to create prosperity for all our citizens. We, in Ghana, certainly are engaged in fighting to eradicate poverty from our country.

File image - TRANSCRIPT: What President Akufo-Addo said about Aisha Huang's deportation (VIDEO)

Speeches

"First of all, the fight against illegal mining in Ghana is something that has not been systematically undertaken until I came into office.

Mr. Yao Selorm Kuatsinu

Speeches

With the absence of funding, the project team can only do so much with self-funding. We therefore encourage like-minded individuals and progressive organizations to partner us to create opportunities and bring lasting change to hundreds and eventually, thousands of lives across the sub-region.

Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta. File image

Speeches

Mr. Speaker, I am performing this statutory function in accordance with Article 179 (8) of the 1992 Constitution and Standing Order 143 of this august House ...

Speech By President Akufo-Addo At The 2019 May-Day Celebration Parade

Speeches

The lopsided nature of things in our country is demonstrated by the statistic quoted eloquently in the speech by the General Secretary of the Trades Union Congress, ...

Dr. Raphael Nyarkotey Obu, RND, PhD. Conference convener

Speeches

This is just the foundation of Alternative Medicine movement: Providing an alternative way to help patients and nothing else. This should not create acrimony ...

Hon Linda Ocloo delivering her speech Ashaiman, 20th June 2019

Speeches

I am very much impressed as a Member of Parliament for Shai-Osudoku to see one of our illustrious sons doing amazing work; both locally and internationally in the health sector.

Dr. Akinwumi A. Adesina, President of the African Development Bank

Speeches

President Volodymyr Zelensky’s Inaugural Address

Speeches

My election proves that our citizens are tired of the experienced, pompous system politicians who over the 28 years, have created a country of opportunities — the opportunities to bribe, steal and pluck the resources.

Ghanaians Will Not Be Spectators Of Parked Ambulances

Press Release

We rallied behind the President to his clarion call to be citizens. We will not settle to be spectators, especially to parked ambulances. Accordingly, ...

Ghana Integrity Initiative Shortlists Five Personalities For Maiden Integrity Awards

Press Release

Minister of Education, Dr. Matthew Opoku Prempeh

Press Release

However we have seen video footage dated February 2019 in which the minister referred to some guidelines and was emphatic that sexuality education should be part of ...

Security Agencies Foil Attempt To Create Instability In Ghana

Press Release

File image - Awomefia of the Anlo State, Togbi Sri III

Press Release

We are of the considered opinion that the President, the embodiment of the State, is apparently condoning an impropriety, since we are very much aware our petitions

Mr Agyenim Boateng Adjei the suspended CEO of the Public Procurement Authority

Press Release

Press Release: Police retrieve skeletal remains suspected to be that of missing Takoradi girls

Press Release

Parliament drops new chamber project for now

Press Release

PURC approves 11.17 per cent electricity tariff increase

Press Release

DECISION TO RECUSE MYSELF FROM AFCON 2019, EGYPT AND RETIRE FROM THE NATION TEAM – ASAMOAH GYAN

Press Release

DECISION TO RECUSE MYSELF FROM AFCON 2019, EGYPT AND RETIRE FROM THE NATION TEAM – ASAMOAH GYAN

The author, Marricke Kofi Gane, is an independent presidential contestant in Ghana’s 2020 General Elections.

Features

I knew then, what many would say, but I needed to do it. I knew the insults to come, the sleaze, the doubtful castings. There was ...

Passengers at a Hong Kong railway station

Features

In the past 50 years, a host of infectious diseases have spread rapidly after making the evolutionary jump from animals to humans.

Andrew Barnes - The Australian High Commissioner to Ghana

Features

This Australia Day, we reflect on the depth of our relationship with Ghana. It is an exciting time for Australia in Ghana. Despite being on the opposite sides of the world, we do enjoy warm and friendly relations.

Fix gridlock on Mallam-Kasoa road

Features

The question on the lips of many has been how on earth a tollbooth could be sited in a location with no room for the expansion of the gates and why a tollbooth would be sited in such a populated location.

Changing phases of plastic waste recycling

Features

The plastic waste menace in Ghana is one that, even though has persisted over time, will be history if the pace of current interventions is sustained.

Power the donkey grazes in Walewale. His owner checks on him at least twice each day, fearing thieves that seek his lucrative hide. (Danielle Paquette/The Washington Post)

Features

Donkey populations in Ghana and Kenya, hot spots in this skin trade, are on track to be “devastated” in the near future, the researchers warned.

The author, NJ Ayuk

Features

Naming 2020 the year of gas for Nigeria has a really nice ring to it, but marketing alone will not cut it

Five-year-old Iris Osnia Ouattara

Features

Many Burkinabé families are a mixture of Christians, Muslims and animists and both Christians and Muslims are often welcomed into each other's places of worship.

Benign Prostatic Hyperplasia

Features

The prostate is surrounded by connective tissue containing many muscle fibers; this capsule makes the prostate feel elastic to the touch.

Sport betting in Ghana - the dangers on child education

Features

The most common sporting event in contemporary time that attracts betting businesses is competitive football across the globe, including the most fancied European leagues and championships.

Kudos, GJA Best Journalist of the Year

Features

As a prolific writer of repute, she has won the respect of several readers including me. I have always enjoyed reading her inspiring, thought-provoking and masterpiece articles on topics such as politics, religion, education, human rights, health and agriculture, just to mention a few.

Why is Jack Ma incubating entrepreneurs in Africa?

Features

But apart from pursuing his dreams in education, is Jack Ma in fact seeking a bigger role that Alibaba can play in Africa’s booming digital economy? Yes and no.

Commendable action by La Nkwantanang-Madina Assembly, but...

Editorials

At the Zongo Junction, about eight assembly guards and policemen are seen constantly directing pedestrians who come to stand by the side of the road waiting for vehicles to stop for them to cross to use the footbridge.

Dr Mahamudu Bawumia (in blue) in a bilateral talks with the President of Cuba, Miguel Diaz-Canel.

Editorials

Cuban doctors offer health care to the world's poor because they have big hearts.

Mr. Joseph Kofi Adda, Minister for Sanitation and Water Resources.

Editorials

Indiscriminate disposal of refuse, generated at homes and workplaces, is a common feature, which if not tackled, ...

Export of nurses innovative

Editorials

But there are other areas where we can take advantage, as we may have a competitive edge over other nations.

Mother tongue may be our development launch pad. Image credit - ghanagrio

Editorials

Many scholars have posited that language develops with the rise and development of a society. Perhaps the most instructive postulation is that language dies when a society dies.

Cocoa farmers deserve a bigger share of the pie

Editorials

Sadly, however, Ghana and Cote d’Ivoire have little to show for their efforts at leading the sustenance of an industry that is equal to or more than the combined value of their national outputs ...

TIME TO TAKE HIV TREATMENT SERIOUS

Editorials

It is regrettable that Ghana who was tipped as far back as 2012 to be the first country on the African continent to eliminate mother-to-child transmission of HIV/AIDS has not as yet succeeded.

Press Freedom Must Mean Freedom And Responsibility

Editorials

Truth is that some media professionals have taken freedom of the press for granted and thrown professional ethics to the abyss.

COP Mrs Maame Yaa Tiwaa Addo-Danquah

Editorials

It is also very disappointing that the police service is behaving as if it has no communication policy in place. A senior officer says the girls have been found or their whereabouts are known but in the same breath the very Police Administration denies the abducted victims have been located.

Pay attention to the roads

Editorials

The importance of roads is well appreciated, viewed against the backdrop that they link producers to markets, workers to workplaces, students to schools and the sick to hospitals.

File image – Circa 2015, an unidentified location in Accra following a heavy downpour that left parts of the capital severely flooded.

Editorials

As if we were possessed then, all of a sudden we discovered all the causes and solutions to floods. We were overtaken by a certain powerful force to put measures in place to curtail once and for all the flooding menace.

James Klutse Avedzi, PAC Chairman

Editorials

Quite honestly, many Ghanaians are not enthused about the warnings that have been issued to the public officials over the period because everyone is fully aware that nothing would come out of it.

Marricke Gane Writes to NDC and NPP Sympathisers: We are in a new dispensation. One that requires doing things differently

Letters

No One was born, with NDC or NPP in their blood. We were ALL born with Ghana in our Blood. NPP and NDC will come and Go. If Ghana goes well, it does for us all.

Kan Dapaah (c) with Chantelle Kujawu. Image credit - ghanapage

Letters

You see, our elders say that a bird that flies off the earth and lands on an anthill is still on the ground. Yes, it is ...

Open Letter To COP Maame Yaa Tiwaa Addo-Danquah

Letters

You are an injurious meretricious "poster-girl" of the Ghana Police, a true and valuable example of why blind affirmative action is unhealthy to the inviolable progress of every institution and/State.

File image - President Akufo-Addo

Letters

Your Excellency, it’s worthy of note that a leader and his leadership is recounted for nothing more than the inspiring accounts and memories of ...

Aisha Huang and Huang Yanfeng

Letters

In April this year, the Senior Minister, Mr Yaw Osafo-Maafo, told some Ghanaians abroad that jailing the Chinese illegal mining ‘queen’ for engaging in illegal mining was not important as it was not going to solve Ghana's economic problems.

File image - President Akufo Addo

Letters

I have been following with keen interest the current debate on the construction of a new Parliamentary Chamber for the country. In my considered opinion it is a good proposal and if carried out ...

Letter to the First Lady; Water in Chanyili is a health hazard

Letters

File image - Chief Justice Sophia Akuffo

Letters

Consider that while other countries are making their citizens ready for the future, you are reveling in a past that doesn't exist anymore, ...

Richard Owusu Nyarko and Christian Asum, the writers

Letters

Soon people gathered and they started hurling insults, “armed robber”, “thief”, you have snatched a phone, okada boys are criminals, etc. “God made you to have this accident ...

Open letter to the manager of British Airways in Accra

Letters

The British Airways flight to Accra was horrible.

President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

Letters

FUND DOMESTIC VIOLENCE WORK IN GHANA, IMPLEMENT THE DOMESTIC VIOLENCE ACT AND RELATED LEGISLATION AND CREATE SEXUAL HARRASSMENT POLICIES IN SCHOOLS AND WORKPLACES IN GHANA

Open Letter to the Ministers of Highways and Railways

Letters

The people of Tarkwa are suffering because of the very poor nature of the road on the outskirts of the municipal area from Tarkwa Senior High School to Wassa Agona.

2019 conference on land policy in Africa: why it matters for the continent - Cosmas Milton Ochieng

Interviews

The theme of this year’s Conference on Land Policy in Africa is “Winning the fight against corruption in the land sector in Africa

Ethiopian Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed he gave his first interview to a Western news organization in late May, when he spoke to the Voice of America’s Horn of Africa service reporter Eskinder Firew, in Addis Ababa in Amharic.

Interviews

Bishop John Bonaventure Kwofie

Interviews

How can somebody like me from a small tribe - the Ahanta people in the Western Region - be called to go to work in Accra; I mean how are the people going to receive me?

DecoKraft’s Akua Obenewaa Donkor

Interviews

My chocolatier journey began when I came across the word “chocolatier” in a magazine. It piqued my curiosity, ...

Angolan businesswoman, Isabel dos Santos

Interviews

In 2013, according to research by Forbes, her net worth had reached more than three billion US dollars, making her Africa's first billionaire woman. Five years have passed ever since and her wealth has continued to grow.

Related: Exclusive Interview: Marricke Kofi Gane Talks Political Future and More - Part 3

Interviews

AA: Like any armchair football coach, the armchair politician’s task is always the easiest; it becomes a different story when the reality hits him in office. What is your take on that?

Exclusive Interview: Marricke Kofi Gane Talks Political Future and More – Part 2

Interviews

Well, let me put it this way – it is not enough if I wish to stand – the people must also want me to stand, after all, they will be the ones to vote for me. What I can say however is this - if I do make an announcement to stand in 2020, it will be because the people believe in me. Do I believe I am ready myself?

Exclusive Interview: Marricke Kofi Gane Talks Political Future and More - Part 1

Interviews

I am not sure there is a very new me from when we last spoke. I think it’s more the case that the Author side of me has been asked to proceed on leave, hahaha, and my more vocal and politically inclined self, awakened. Both have always been there.

The developing world is an easy target for populists – Kofi Annan

Interviews

There has been much debate about democratic dysfunction in the advanced world due to paralyzing polarization exacerbated by fake news and social media manipulation. Isn’t this also an issue in the fledgling democracies of the developing world, from Malaysia to Kenya, Nigeria and elsewhere?

The story is titled 'The Shimmer in the Photo Album', and it revolves around 4 children and their grandfather, and a series of time-porting adventures and mysteries they go through. The title was purely to create curiosity and thereby encourage anyone to pick up through book.

Abel Manomey (1st left) celebrates a goal with Gt. Olympics teammates. File image credit - @images_image

Interviews

SA: I find your reference to the use of occultism/juju in the Ghana Premier League very intriguing. I do recall a video on Twitter of several Gt. Olympics players walking backwards into a stadium with hopes of picking up the 3 points as they sought to escape relegation towards the end of the 2017 season. Did that really happen or was that clip a prank?

Abel Manomey (1st left) celebrates a goal with Gt. Olympics teammates. File image credit - @images_image

Interviews

They have done well so far. They registered players last season for them to be insured but they need to be cushioned by the Ghana Football Association (GFA), and other corporate bodies since it is a huge financial burden on the PFAG. Also, in my case, Mr. Baffoe personally called and assured me of the association paying any debt incurred at the hospital resulting from my recent injury.

Historic Visit Of Overlord Of Dagbon To Jubilee House

Commentary

The visit became necessary following the restoration of peace after a two-decade chieftaincy dispute.

The Commissioning And Distribution Of 307 Ambulances

Commentary

It is not enough to have mere vehicles serving as ambulances to carry people on stretchers from one location to the other for medical care. A well established national ambulance system should …

Privacy and security settings exist for a reason. Make good use of it. Learn how to use it to protect your information.

Rice farms at Wheta Irrigation Project

Commentary

Ghanaians have fed on the so-called perfumed foreign rice to the extent that the consumption of locally produced rice is at an all-time low, even though it is very nutritious and healthier.

South Africans and foreign nationals wave the Ghana flag in Yeoville, outside Johannesburg, South Africa, Friday July 2, 2010. The African continent is rallying behind Ghana scheduled to play in the quarterfinal World Cup soccer match against Uruguay later in the day in Port Elizabeth. (AP Photo/Jerome Delay)

Commentary

All this goes to point out that we need to come together in peace, whether as political players, economic and social actors or even as religious people. If the contribution of ....

Why Standards?

Commentary

The principle of creation and the standards that go with it require all human beings to show interest in standardisation so as to be able to ensure quality products for everyone on earth.

Termination Of PDS-ECG Agreement

Commentary

It is worthy of note that several government functionaries including the Minister of Energy, John Peter Amewu and his Deputy Owuraku Aidoo had described the contract with PDS as fraudulent.

Plastic Waste Menace In Ghana

Commentary

NPRA’S Efforts To prosecute Defaulting Pension Companies

Commentary

Tier one is the mandatory Social Security and National Insurance Trust, SSNIT, tier two which is ...

Urgent action needed to reduce the annual figures of Ghanaian deportees

Commentary

In fact, to have 67 people escorting 17 unwanted guests is in itself a signal that the German government is really serious with its immigration laws.

File image - Upcoming Referendum On Election Of MMDCEs

Commentary

The suggestion to elect the MMDCEs if endorsed by the electorate come December 17 will among other benefits enhance participation and all-inclusive governance at the grassroots level, ...

Latest in Category

Our Columnists

Grid List

The writer, Elizabeth Ohene

At Large

... or were the Kenyans going to speak no ill of the dead and send home the conquering hero who had ruled them for 24 years?

A week ago, the former Kenyan President Daniel arap Moi was laid to rest at his Kabarak home. Many things came to mind when the news came that the 95-year-old had died.

Re: Graphic, Times editors fired, minister resigns

At Large

In Ghana (and in Africa), when a minister of state falls down, you can be sure he did not jump; he was pushed. Either because ...

I present today, a man who was, and is, a rarity in African politics. On the occasion of our Independence anniversary, as Ghanaians struggle to come to terms with how one politician and his brother applied Kweku Ananse wisdom to make themselves €3 million richer a lá Airbus bribery scandal, I celebrate Kwabena Gyima Osei Bonsu (‘C.K.’), 83-year-old former MP, former Minister in two regimes, lawyer and chief.

Travels with Ghana passport - Elizabeth Ohene writes. Image credit - JB Klutse

At Large

Three weeks after he got to West Germany, word reached the embassy here in Accra that the young man had applied for political asylum. Needless to say ...

I read that the Ghanaian passport is ranked 78th by something called the 2020 Henley Passport Index. According to this index, our passport provides visa-free/visa on arrival access to 65 destinations, while we need visas to get to 161 destinations.

Hunt for corrupt official 1: Let not noise drown the truth

At Large

Truth is, people don’t just care about Ghana; for almost every elected or appointed Ghanaian official, the motto is: “Me, my tribe and my party.”

Ghanaians woke up this week to news that transactions leading to our purchase of three military aircraft between 2009 and 2015 were tainted with corruption.

Jean Mensah, EC Chairperson

At Large

It is important that the EC, like the Judiciary, must be independent.

As I wrote last week, I am not against a replacement of the register; if it is not changed today, it would eventually have to be changed, anyway, after the December elections.

President Donald Trump

At Large

et, long before the American Senate began a process to formalise the President’s acquittal, the Republican majority seemed to have made up their minds and “nobody can confuse us with the truth”.

Who has, since September 2019, been in any doubt about the final outcome of what William Shakespeare would have described in 1599 as Much Ado About?

The writer, Elizabeth Ohene

At Large

It seems to me that part of the problems we have now emanate from people wanting to run without having learned to walk, and sometimes, without having even learned to stand firmly, ...

I am always fascinated by stories of child prodigies.

The writer, Elizabeth Ohene

At Large

And I wonder about someone having eight children.

I return to a subject that seems not to interest many people in this country.

Where’s the promised 1% for science?...Not to talk about the 2.5%, long term!

At Large

Like most good news, scientific inventions and discoveries don’t make the headlines in Ghana.

For two reasons, I envy winners of beauty pageants and TV reality shows.

On community

Here And There

The health tourism budget for West Africa alone is in the billions of dollars. And most of this money flies away from the countries.

Two weeks ago, I sat in a club house in Kolkata, with a special group of people. They were neurosurgeons from 4 continents, hosted by a generous colleague in a special place.

On Questions

Here And There

What more whittling away of our human psyche will we accept?

I was passing by those ambulances on a daily basis. Lined up in neat rows on the parking lots of power. The controversy swirled around them. The need beckoned. The death data swelled. And still they sat, waiting for the word to be given. The dust accumulated. The rust must have started already, the salt breeze wafting off the coast just miles away.

Two African American guests visiting the Cape Coast Castle as part of the ‘year of return’ celebrations stare into the vastness of the Atlantic Ocean where many were carted off into slavery in America and the new world.

Here And There

And if that is where it ends, then maybe the glitz was for nothing. Maybe the light that is shining again at the door of no return ...

The Christmas decorations still hang around. It was nice while it lasted. Now it’s time to move on. Baubles and blinking have become flickering indicators of a society which takes its time, with everything.

On Christmas. Image credit - Redbubble

Here And There

It’s been a busy Christmas in the hospital. As traffic built up on roads, even more Okadas have been let loose on unsuspecting pedestrians. They whiz around like missiles on the road, ...

It has been a memorable Christmas. Hot. And now the harmattan rears its head, like a forgotten belated guest. Suddenly I am reminded of how Christmas was supposed to feel like, with its special morning chill, dry lips, ‘white’ faces, clothes quickly drying on the line. I am not sure how long this will last. The weather has a mind of its own these days. After all, it was raining in November… flooding, even.

Dr Teddy Totimeh (L) with Dr. Sandvik

Here And There

So I will not talk about how all the doctor’s accommodation around my hospital has been taken over by politicians, political businesses and non medical staff. I can only talk about what has happened in the last two weeks.

When I left the operating theater at 3am that Friday, I was double-minded. I was not sure I should be going home. I wanted to stay at the hospital, sleep and then get home in the morning. But I really wanted to be somewhere else Saturday morning. I thought it would be helpful to get some sleep in my own bed for a few hours before setting out.

On Priority

Here And There

I will think about them often in the days ahead. Anytime I am tempted to stop trying to solve a problem, I will remember their smiles. When the troubles of ....

I have just left a conference that hosted 600 neurosurgeons from all over the world. It has been an intensive 4 days packed with knowledge that is mind boggling in its scope. It is amazing, what has been achieved over the last few decades, by people who have dedicated their lives to the brains and spines of children. There were topics ranging from the routine, to the outright futuristic.

On Teamwork. Image credit - oldtownetitle

Here And There

He also reminds me of the prerequisite for any difference that medical knowledge can make in the lives of the people who come to our hospital: team work. There is no other way.

One client walked into my consulting room 3 weeks ago. He sat in my consulting room, engaging with me on current happenings, and lifted me up in a way he would never know. The privilege of being involved in his life is singularly mine. The message that his life carried for me, and members of my team, was direct: Do not give up.

On Power

Here And There

It is difficult to look forward with hope. It is difficult to see the same shadows that familiar trees have cast, and ...

When I saw the CT scan my heart sank. The beautiful symmetry that the brain has, the different shades that white and grey matter imprint on the LCD screen were gone. The lines that divide the electrical generating cells, from the transmitting cells, were gone. This was the aftermath of battle, and the brain cells had lost the ultimate war. And now even as the person’s heart and lungs worked together in the unison that is life’s rhythm, the brain was gone. Life had ended. And there was nothing that we could do about what was going to happen in the next few days. 

On Service

Here And There

If good health care requires strategic planning, from committed players, and it has devalued the way it has in this country, then it is either there has been no strategic planning, or the players have been uncommitted or both.

There is this bread selling business in my neighbourhood. I don’t know how they do it. Really. But if I need soft, pliant, delicious, bread at 10pm, I go there. And I get it. Without fail. No questions asked. And me and my indisciplined self… yes, I have tried it after 10. I did not get it. They had closed. And I knew I had pushed it far enough. There is really a limit to soft bread provision. All service, no matter how excellent, depends on well planned duration limits.

Understanding the Impact of Politics on Health Insurance

Thoughts From Afar

The truth is since its inception, the NHIS, as a social intervention, has been politicised. At each election, ...

According to Jonathan Swift, “falsehood flies, and truth comes limping after it so that when men come to be undeceived, it is too late; the jest is over, and the tale hath had its effect: like a man, who hath thought of a good repartee when the discourse is changed, or the company parted; or like a physician, who hath found out an infallible medicine, after the patient is dead.”

Are The Health Consequences of Illegal Mining A Concern? Image credit - DW

Thoughts From Afar

... one can only wonder how as a nation we can expect these children to aspire for social mobility when by default we are conspiring to tie their arms behind their back.

“Maybe it’s a whole lot less about focusing on the fact that we’re all victims and a whole lot more about the changing the fact that we’re all careless, as that is what victimized all of us in the first place.”

A unit within the newly built Wuhan Hospital. Wuhan is the capital of Hubei province, the source of the 2020 coronavirus outbreak.

Thoughts From Afar

In that same week, information began to emerge that two people had been hospitalised in Ghana with suspected Coronavirus (2019-nCoV) infections.

“Sorrow prepares you for joy. It violently sweeps everything out of your house, so that new joy can find space to enter. It shakes the yellow leaves from the bough of your heart so that fresh, green leaves can grow in their place. It pulls up the rotten roots so that new roots hidden beneath have room to grow. Whatever sorrow shakes from your heart, far better things will take their place.”

When Circumstances Make Me Question My Mortality

Thoughts From Afar

This is because in our prime we fail to realise that when our health begins to fail, irrespective of our wealth, our life fortunes ...

Ernest Hemingway in his book, A Farewell to Arms argues “If people bring so much courage to this world the world has to kill them to break them, so of course it kills them. The world breaks everyone and afterwards many are strong at the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you too but there will be no special hurry.”

Coronavirus: A Public Health Call for Proactive Thinking

Thoughts From Afar

As the world watches in anxiety and sees China go through these hurtful situations, we all need to be mindful of the choices we make. This is because our health system currently is not robust enough to handle a mass epidemic.

“We have within us the power to choose how we respond to a hurtful situation. We cannot control the actions of others, but we can control how we will respond. As we understand our power to choose, we see that we are in control. Our life is not a result of our environment or upbringing, but a result of our choices. We have the ability to determine the kind of life we want to live and the type of person we wish to be.” Cameron C. Taylor

The Death Traps We Call Roads

Thoughts From Afar

On the surface this statement is laudable; but an in-depth look raises serious concerns. To start with, ...

In Marvin Simkin’s view “democracy is not freedom. Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to eat for lunch. Freedom comes from the recognition of certain rights which may not be taken, not even by a 99% vote.”

Parting Shot; Time to Take a Break

Thoughts From Afar

I find it surprising that a government claiming to have done so much in the area of health will not deem it necessary to put the statistics out to buttress its arguments.

Given enough time, you could convince yourself that loneliness was something better, that it was solitude, the ideal condition for reflection, even a kind of freedom.”

The Cold Realities of Laboratory Testing

Thoughts From Afar

This situation cannot continue. This is because as our country’s disease burden becomes dominated by chronic diseases, many of us could be falsely blinded ...

Prolific British street artist Banksy, in Banging Your Head Against a Brick Wall argues that “your mind is working at its best when you’re being paranoid. You explore every avenue and possibility of your situation at high speed with total clarity.”

This Call for Equity; Backed By Plans and Deeds

Thoughts From Afar

It will be diabolical that the wake of purchasing new ambulances and equipping the Ghana Ambulance Service with pickup vehicles, we fail to ensure that the use of these infrastructures is optimized.

In Laura Ingalls Wilder’s view “the real things haven’t changed. It is still best, to be honest, and truthful; to make the most of what we have; to be happy with simple pleasures, and have courage when things go wrong.”

My Beef With The ‘John’ At Work. Image credit - American standard

This And That

Personally, I don’t engage in the rushed entry business as it is disrespectful in my opinion. How do you relate to a colleague once you conclude that their shit smells bad? Interestingly, ...

I have for a while now come to the somber realization and conclusion that there are quite a few number of people whose behavior around the workplace John need to be readjusted. Either that, or they just have olfactory bearings in serious need of realignment.

Marshae Jones - Alabama Woman Indicted for Death of Her Fetus. Booking image released by the Jefferson County Sheriff's Office.

This And That

A pregnant woman, who was shot in the stomach by another woman, was recently charged with manslaughter in the death of her unborn baby.

The state of Alabama has always been somewhat radical. They threw themselves headlong into slavery, and after it was abolished, Alabama championed segregation. The state, and still is, known for unsteady race relations, and from its illustrious history, it’s clear that Alabama is also right-leaning in its tendencies.

Bottled Water Scare - How Can You Know What’s Safe?

This And That

Worse still is that this is not America’s first tryst with sullied drinking water. In April 2014, the Flint, Michigan water crisis ...

In recent news all over the United States, it has been discovered that certain brands of bottled water contain arsenic, a substance that can be deadly in humans. These brands are Starkey Water and Penafiel. According to news reports they were sold at Target, Wal Mart and Whole Foods.

Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception. Image credit - Atlas Obscura

This And That

I have no idea what went on inside during the ceremony but the smiles and joy on the faces of parents, ... was enough to signal joy and success of a fortune well-spent at this solely private Catholic girls school.. to provide their daughters an education many of them never had, ...

After frustratingly searching for my phone for several minutes to take a picture of people dumping trash in front of a mail box, I finally came to the realization that I was having a dream, something that I rarely have. This was three Thursdays ago.

Water for Togo

This And That

Tears shouldn’t be the easiest way to have clean water,

Togo’s leaders sit on thrones

Made of gold and bones

The dry, dehydrated bones of the people,

Several cows caught crossing the street around the Achimota Overhead area with flagrant disregard for traffic rules. Photo credit: On the road with Amigo.

This And That

These cows, and many of their other four-legged brethren, not to mention those of the two-legged and winged varieties, can be an eyesore in certain parts of the city. Together, they take care of their private business in full glare of the public, and without fail, fail to clean up after themselves. As for their owners, the less said about their interest in cleaning the public mess, the better.

As someone who dabbled in animal husbandry during his youthful days on a homestead within the city limits of Accra many years ago, and rose to the ranks of a Johnny-do-it-all General Manager, I was really taken aback by a news item from the renowned Associated Press (AP), about lawmakers in one of the States of our own spirited friend, Number Forty-Five, who currently occupies the WH, weighing a trespassing bill against chicken owners in the state of New Hampshire.